A Travellerspoint blog

AMSTERDAM - THE CITYSCAPE OF CANALS AND BICYCLES

Four days waiting for the Christmas Cruise

We arrived in Amsterdam this afternoon an hour late because of a train incident.

large_DSC00633.jpglarge_DSC00636.jpglarge_DSC00637.jpg
large_DSC00640.jpglarge_DSC00649.jpglarge_DSC00654.jpg
We found our hotel right beside the railway station.
Amsterdam is the Netherlands’ capital, known for its artistic heritage, elaborate canal system and narrow houses with gabled facades, legacies of the city’s 17th-century Golden Age. Its Museum District houses the Van Gogh Museum, works by Rembrandt and Vermeer at the Rijksmuseum, and modern art at the Stedelijk. Cycling is key to the city’s character, and there are numerous bike paths.

Here are some photos we took on a stroll around the Centrum. I did not take any photos in the Red Light District.
large_DSC00660.jpglarge_270_DSC00664.jpglarge_270_DSC00666.jpglarge_DSC00671.jpglarge_DSC00673.jpglarge_DSC00676.jpg

We found a quiet little bar that really had room for about a dozen people and waited till an hour or so to go and have inner around 6.00 pm.
large_90_DSC00684.jpglarge_270_DSC00687.jpg

Tomorrow, Saturday 10 December is a big day at least for one of us, and we are going to the Rijksmuseum. it is a Dutch national museum dedicated to arts and history in Amsterdam. The museum is located at the Museum Square in the borough Amsterdam South, close to the Van Gogh Museum, the Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam, and the Concertgebouw.

The Rijksmuseum was founded in The Hague in 1800 and moved to Amsterdam in 1808, where it was first located in the Royal Palace and later in the Trippenhuis. The current main building was designed by Pierre Cuypers and first opened its doors in 1885. On 13 April 2013, after a ten-year renovation which cost € 375 million, the main building was reopened by Queen Beatrix. In 2013 and 2014, it was the most visited museum in the Netherlands with record numbers of 2.2 million and 2.45 million visitors. It is also the largest art museum in the country.

We walked to Centraal Station ( yes, it is spelt with two 'a's) then took the tram to the Rijksmuseum.
DSC00690

DSC00690

large_DSC00691.jpglarge_DSC00692.jpglarge_DSC00693.jpg

The museum has an incredibly large range of exhibits as well as prized paintings such as Van Gogh's self portrait and Rembrandt's Night Watch.
large_DSC00696.jpglarge_270_DSC00699.jpglarge_DSC00711.jpglarge_DSC00717.jpglarge_DSC00719.jpglarge_DSC00723.jpg

King Louis Napoleon, Napoleon's brother, was made King of the Nertherlands.
large_DSC00701.jpg

A box of pistols owned by Napoleon Bonaparte and a painting of the Battle of Waterloo (and the back of a gawker's head).
large_DSC00703.jpglarge_DSC00704.jpg

Here are a few more items rom the Rijksmuseum collection.

The picture below is of relics from when Opium was used in trade. The packets have certified quantity and quality of opium.
large_DSC00708.jpglarge_90_DSC00707.jpglarge_90_DSC00706.jpglarge_DSC00729.jpglarge_DSC00744.jpglarge_DSC00748.jpglarge_DSC00753.jpg

Sunday morning was to be sleepy sort of day. However we booked on a three hour walking tour with our guide Kor. He was an Urban a planning student and an actor. As a tour guide was without peer. It was one of the best we had ever taken. He was hilariously witty and had a deep knowledge of the city and history.

One if our first sights was The Schreierstoren (English incorrectly translated as: Weeper's Tower), originally part of the medieval city wall of Amsterdam, the Netherlands, was built in the 15th century. It was the location from which Henry Hudson set sail on his journey to Northern America. This expedition would lead to the discovery of the island of Manhattan among others. It was built as a defense tower in 1481.[1] It is currently a café and nautical bookstore. The old name was 'Schreyhoeckstoren' meaning in old Dutch the sharp angle of the tower with the once connected citywalls.
large_270_DSC00772.jpg

Our tour started at Dam Square. The town hall is sited in the first picture with the monument in the next.
large_DSC00783.jpglarge_270_DSC00787.jpg

There are plenty of quite different types of shops here in Amsterdam.
large_270_DSC00788.jpglarge_DSC00792.jpglarge_DSC00822.jpglarge_DSC00823.jpg

We found the answer to why houses are crooked. Everyone who has been to Amsterdam has noticed how crooked Amsterdam houses are. Amsterdam houses are leaning forward, they tilt to one side and some look like they might fall over. So why are Amsterdam houses crooked? Tourist guides and books have all kinds of explanations. Looking more closely into this problem, the answer is not as simple as tourist websites make it sound. In fact, the experts are not all that certain why the Amsterdam houses look slanted and skewed. There are many theories. Here are the most likely.

All houses in Amsterdam are built on piles, drilled meters deep into the wet soil. Nowadays they fill up the pile with cement to make them extra sturdy, but in the old days they used wooden piles.

If they don’t build the houses in Amsterdam on poles, the houses would simply sink into the swampy ground. The Amsterdam soil consists of 11 meters of soft peat and clay before the poles hit the first solid layer of sand. Nowadays, the piles are drilled further into the ground until they hit a second layer of sand, at 18 meters deep.

2. Why buildings in Amsterdam look skewed

In many cases, the wooden poles were of a lesser quality, not long enough or not thick enough. Save to say, the builders did not give out a 300-year guarantee. The old age and quality of the wooden piles make the buildings in Amsterdam sink unevenly in the ground, making the buildings in Amsterdam looked skewed.
As long as the houses are tightly packed together, holding each other, everything’s fine. But when one of the houses in the row gets a makeover or starts moving and the poles are not in the best condition, you get the famous crooked house you often see along the Amsterdam canals.

Houses on corners, that lack a neighboring building on one side are most sensitive to slanting because they have no house next door to lean on. Often, the walls of a corner house will start to look bloated.

3. Rotting of the wooden poles

Another reason for the Amsterdam houses to tilt to one side, is the rotting of the wooden poles. The water level in the city is controlled by a special governmental agency, called Waterschap. Its board of members is chosen independently and democratically during public elections. When the Waterschap agency decides the water level may be lowered, the poles are exposed to oxygen and start to rot. And when de foundation is slowly decaying, the entire Amsterdam house will start to lean to one side.

4. Adding extra floors on top

Especially in the Amsterdam Jordaan Quarter, many houses start to sink into the ground when they add an extra floor on top. The weight of the house is bigger than the old builders had calculated all those centuries ago. The result: a crooked Amsterdam facade.

Why do houses lean forward?

Many old Amsterdam houses are leaving forward towards to the street. This leaning is not an accident. Amsterdam houses were built leaning forward intentionally! In Dutch this is called ‘op de vlucht bouwen’.

Until the start of the 19th century, construction regulations in Amsterdam specifically stated that all houses need to lean forward. It even stated by how much. Houses on corners needed to lean forward on both ‘open’ sides.

Here are some great photos that illustrate this.

large_270_DSC00819.jpg
large_270_4F77544EA0830B63E9345832ED4FCCDD.jpglarge_DSC00806.jpg
large_4F7079B5E74720A19E08F986230D5807.jpg

The building in the middle in the picture below was a clandestine Catholic Church. Ons' Lieve Heer op Solder (English: Our Lord in the Attic) is a 17th-century canal house, house church, and museum in the city center of Amsterdam, The Netherlands. The Catholic Church was built on the top three floors of the canal house during the 1660s. It is an important example of a "schuilkerk", or "clandestine church," in which Catholics and other religious dissenters from the seventeenth century Dutch Reformed Church, unable to worship in public, held services.

large_270_DSC00797.jpg

The East India Company made Amsterdam rich in the 17 th century with 45 % of the world's wealth. This was their headquarters.
large_DSC00809.jpg

We stopped for a drink in an Irish Pub. Previously, the building had been a church. Some of the original fittings are still in place.
large_DSC00810.jpg

Tonight, we dined at an Irish Pub called 'Molly Malone'. Later we took a stroll around the Red Light District. Here are some alternatives views around the area.

The first photo below shows Justin Bieber's Penthouse. He paid 22.5 million euros for it and visits four times a year.
large_DSC00830.jpglarge_DSC00833.jpglarge_DSC00834.jpglarge_DSC00835.jpglarge_DSC00836.jpglarge_270_DSC00838.jpg

Monday, 12 December saw us visit The Van Gogh Museum. The Van Gogh Museum is an art museum dedicated to the works of Vincent van Gogh and his contemporaries in Amsterdam in the Netherlands. It is located at the Museum Square in the borough Amsterdam South, close to the Stedelijk Museum, the Rijksmuseum, and the Concertgebouw.

The museum opened on 2 June 1973. It is located in buildings designed by Gerrit Rietveld and Kisho Kurokawa. The museum's collection is the largest collection of Van Gogh's paintings and drawings in the world.

Upon Vincent van Gogh's death in 1890, his work not sold fell into the possession of his brother Theo. Theo died six months after Vincent, leaving the work in the possession of his widow, Johanna van Gogh-Bonger. Selling many of Vincent's paintings with the ambition of spreading knowledge of his artwork, Johanna maintained a private collection of his works.

The collection was inherited by her son Vincent Willem van Gogh in 1925, eventually loaned to the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam where it was displayed for many years, and was transferred to the state-initiated Vincent van Gogh Foundation in 1962.

large_DSC00841.jpglarge_DSC00845.jpglarge_DSC00847.jpglarge_270_DSC00848.jpglarge_DSC00857.jpglarge_DSC00859.jpgDSC00846.jpglarge_DSC00858.jpg

We returned to Centraal by tram and walked back to our hotel. You have to be really careful Crossing bike tracks as bikes, scooters and motorbikes have right of way. This funny little car came across the pedestrian crossing and almost bumped into Colleen before it took off down the bike way.
large_DSC00862.jpglarge_DSC00863.jpg

I went up to Floor 11, the Sky Bar at our hotel, the Double Tree Hilton. Here remove shots of the Amsterdam skyline after dark.

large_DSC00864.jpglarge_DSC00865.jpglarge_DSC00866.jpglarge_DSC00870.jpglarge_DSC00871.jpg

This morning (Tuesday 13 December) was 6 degrees at 9.00 am. We visited the Anne Frank House. http://www.annefrank.org

The Anne Frank House (Dutch: Anne Frank Huis) is a writer's house and biographical museum dedicated to Jewish wartime diarist Anne Frank. The building is located on a canal called the Prinsengracht, close to the Westerkerk, in central Amsterdam in the Netherlands.

During World War II, Anne Frank hid from Nazi persecution with her family and four other people in hidden rooms at the rear of the 17th-century canal house, known as the Secret Annex. Anne Frank did not survive the war, but in 1947 her wartime diary was published. Her father Otto Frank survived Auschwitz and returned to Amsterdam to search for his family. In 1957, the Anne Frank Foundation was established to protect the property from developers who wanted to demolish the block.

The museum opened on 3 May 1960. It preserves the hiding place, has a permanent exhibition on the life and times of Anne Frank, and has an exhibition space about all forms of persecution and discrimination. In 2013 and 2014, the museum had 1.2 million visitors and was the 3rd most visited museum in the Netherlands, after the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh Museum.

large_IMG_0737.jpg

This pic is of the houses across the canal fronting Anne Frank's House.

large_DSC00872.jpg

Anne Frank's House. The second pic is of the secret entrance is a hinged bookcase to enter the Secret Annexe that was the hiding place for Anne Frank, her mother and father and her sister Margot. Four others completed the hiding place for eight people for three years during the Nazi occupation of Amsterdam.
large_IMG_0738.jpglarge_IMG_0739.jpg

Tomorrow, Wednesday 14 December we are picked up at our hotel in Amsterdam and taken to the Scenic Amber to start our 16 day cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest.

Posted by Kangatraveller 10:10 Comments (0)

COLOGNE

Munich to Cologne to Amsterdam

This morning (Wednesday 7 December) we took the ICE high speed train from Munich to Cologne. The train is very comfortable in first class though there was not a lot to see. Just a few small villages,lots of farms and farm lands and frozen forests.
large_883CC15094854C2EEDC68076C3F45DB1.jpglarge_DSC00109.jpg

The Hauptbahnhof, the railway station is right beside the Kolner Dom. Cologne Cathedral (German: Kölner Dom, officially Hohe Domkirche Sankt Petrus, Latin: Ecclesia Cathedralis Sanctorum Petri, English: High Cathedral of Saint Peter) is a Roman Catholic cathedral in Cologne, Germany. It is the seat of the Archbishop of Cologne and of the administration of the Archdiocese of Cologne. It is a renowned monument of German Catholicism and Gothic architecture and was declared a World Heritage Site in 1996. It is Germany's most visited landmark, attracting an average of 20,000 people a day and currently the tallest twin-spired church at 157 m (515 ft) tall.

Construction of Cologne Cathedral commenced in 1248 and was halted in 1473, leaving it unfinished. Work restarted in the 19th century and was completed, to the original plan, in 1880. The cathedral is the largest Gothic church in Northern Europe and has the second-tallest spires. The towers for its two huge spires give the cathedral the largest façade of any church in the world. The choir has the largest height to width ratio, 3.6:1, of any medieval church.

The cathedral suffered fourteen hits by aerial bombs during World War II. Badly damaged, it nevertheless remained standing in an otherwise completely flattened city. The twin spires were an easily recognizable navigational landmark for Allied aircraft bombing.

large_270_DSC00312.jpglarge_270_DSC00314.jpglarge_270_DSC00315.jpglarge_DSC00327.jpglarge_270_DSC00335.jpglarge_270_DSC00379.jpg

The Shrine of the Three Kings is a reliquary said to contain the bones of the Biblical Magi, also known as the Three Kings or the Three Wise Men. The shrine is a large gilded and decorated triple sarcophagus placed above and behind the high altar of Cologne Cathedral. It is considered the high point of Mosan art and the largest reliquary in the western world.

large_DSC00354.jpg

The Christmas Markets are in full swing everywhere. They are immensely popular.

large_DSC00390.jpglarge_DSC00397.jpglarge_270_DSC00401.jpglarge_DSC00406.jpglarge_DSC00411.jpg

Kölsch is a beer brewed in Cologne, Germany. It is a clear, top-fermented beer with a bright, straw-yellow hue similar to other beers brewed from mainly Pilsener malt. It is served in small glasses .2 litre (1.80 Euro).

large_DSC00418.jpglarge_DSC00424.jpg

Thursday morning we joined a walking tour that was so bad we skipped out halfway through. We met our guide at the Hahnentor. The most important of the twelve gates that gave entrance to Cologne was the west gate, known as the Hahnentor. After their coronation in Aachen, German kings arrived in Cologne through this gate to revere the shrine of the Three Magi in the Cologne cathedral.

The gate was built between 1235 and 1240 and was probably named after a citizen named Hageno, who owned the nearby land. This eventually morphed into Hahnentor (cock gate). The word burg, loosely translated to castle or bastion, refers to the defensive nature of the gate.
large_DSC00470.jpg

This is me being bored by the guide. I took a photo of my reflection in a balloon.
large_270_DSC00469.jpg

Here are some pictures ken in the Belgian Quarter.

large_DSC00485.jpglarge_DSC00494.jpglarge_DSC00497.jpglarge_DSC00481.jpg

These bronze plaques are inserted in the footpaths to remember particular Jewish people who lived in the area and did not survive the war.
large_DSC00491.jpg

This is the City Museum. You can see remnants of the old city walls here and elsewhere.
large_DSC00500.jpglarge_DSC00503.jpglarge_DSC00506.jpg

A real find for us was The Roman-Germanic Museum. It is an archaeological museum in Cologne, Germany. It has a large collection of Roman artifacts from the Roman settlement of Colonia Claudia Ara Agrippinensium, on which modern Cologne is built. The museum protects the original site of a Roman town villa, from which a large Dionysus mosaic remains in its original place in the basement, and the related Roman Road just outside. In this respect the museum is an archaeological site.

The museum also has the task of preserving the Roman cultural heritage of Cologne, and therefore houses an extensive collection of Roman glass from funerals and burials and also exercises archaeological supervision over the construction of the Cologne underground.

large_DSC00542.jpglarge_DSC00545.jpglarge_DSC00596.jpglarge_270_DSC00611.jpg
large_270_DSC00608.jpglarge_270_DSC00599.jpg

On Friday we take the train on a 2 hour trip to Amsterdam. On Wednesday 14 December we start the Scenic Christmas Wonderland Cruise from Amsterdam to Budapest - https://www.scenic.com.au/tour/christmas-wonderland/4124

Posted by Kangatraveller 07:58 Comments (0)

MUNICH,BAVARIA, GERMANY

8 Days in one hotel to explore the city and region

We are staying at the Hotel Schiller on Schiller Strasse, a short walk to the Marienplatz. Earlier today we bought another suitcase to replace the one that we bought in Prague in 2009. It was either that or repair the lock and wheel on the old one and we had already done that once.

Here are some photos we took on the walk to Marienplatz.

large_DSC09741.jpglarge_270_DSC09747.jpglarge_DSC09758.jpglarge_DSC09760.jpglarge_DSC09763.jpg

This morning we decided to do two days on a Graysline Hop On Hop Off. Our first stop was to go to the Schloss Nymphenburg.

Here are some photos on the way.
large_873D725AD809825FCD7DFAF287648D05.jpglarge_DSC09956.jpglarge_DSC09958.jpglarge_DSC09959.jpg

Schloss Nymphenburg, ie., "Castle of the Nymph (or Nymphs)", is a Baroque palace in Munich, Bavaria, southern Germany. The palace is the main summer residence of the former rulers of Bavaria of the House of Wittelsbach.

The palace was commissioned by the prince-electoral couple Ferdinand Maria and Henriette Adelaide of Savoy to the designs of the Italian architect Agostino Barelli in 1664 after the birth of their son Maximilian II Emanuel. The central pavilion was completed in 1675. As a building material it utilised limestone from Kelheim. The castle was gradually expanded and transformed over the years.

large_5023638FEAF17C19E0970C86DFBBEAEB.jpglarge_50263918D8806FB5D1C7AF4FDAA16443.jpglarge_502B8479E88189D719904B4AD15BCEB6.jpglarge_502F99B69E552FD2C3C329BB7BF1A1ED.jpglarge_5032E741F29A69551C3683D8A1F80B3D.jpg

Next stop was the BMW Welt. The new headquarters and BMW Museum cost 500 million a Euros to build.
BMW Welt operations are coordinated with the other local BMW facilities, the BMW Museum and BMW Headquarters. It has a showroom with the current model lineup of BMW cars and motorcycles, and the other two BMW Group brands, Mini and Rolls-Royce. Customers picking up special ordered cars are given a dramatic "staged experience" in which they await their new car in an enormous glass-walled hall, and their cars are lifted up from lower levels on round elevator platforms.

The Museum was worth the visit even if you were not that interested in motor vehicles.
large_517F31ADDEA06E8672FB6DB1DA2F64D0.jpglarge_DSC09842.jpglarge_DSC09848.jpglarge_518BC4E9B0D40A9C38DF28ED2104520F.jpglarge_DSC09857.jpg

The next stop was the English Gardens with its Chrostmas Markets.
large_DSC09885.jpglarge_DSC09886.jpglarge_DSC09887.jpglarge_DSC09891.jpglarge_DSC09892.jpg

On our way back to our hotel, we called into the Victualenmarkt to buy an assortment of sausages, cheeses, tomatoes, crusty bread, butter ( sliced from a large block) and some beer to have for dinner. The Viktualienmarkt is a daily food market and a square in the center of Munich, Germany.

The Viktualienmarkt developed from an original farmers' market to a popular market for gourmets. 140 stalls and shops offer flowers, exotic fruit, game, poultry, spices, cheese, fish, juices and so on.

Near the market is St Peter's Church. The sun came out just in time to take this photo.
large_DSC09914.jpg

We are still getting over a bit of jet lag or is it 'work lag'. Sunrise is around 7.45 am and Sunset is around 4.20 pm so it is easy to go to bed very early and this means waking up around 3.00 am or so.

Today, Friday 2 December, we went to talk to two nice people at the Tourist Information Centre to book tickets to the two castles, Linderhof and Neuschanschwanstein, the castle that inspired the Disney brothers. We will also stop at Oberammergau, a quaint village known for its annual Passion Play. Colleen then booked seats on our next train trip to Cologne and Amersterdam. The lady in the ticket office could not have been more unhelpful and Colleen's 'thank you so much for all your help' fell on deaf ears.

We ended up at the Hofbrauhaus just before lunch time. The Hofbräuhaus am Platzl is a beer hall in Munich, Germany, originally built in 1589 by Bavarian Duke Maximilian I as an extension of the Staatliches Hofbräuhaus in München brewery. The general public was admitted in 1828 by Ludwig I. The building was completely remodeled in 1897 by Max Littmann when the brewery moved to the suburbs. All of the rooms except the historic beer hall ("Schwemme") were destroyed in the World War II bombings. The reopening of the Festival Hall in 1958 marked the end of the post-war restoration work.

large_90_DSC09933.jpglarge_DSC09934.jpglarge_DSC09943.jpg

There were maybe a hundred people there and all of a sudden there were a thousand more. Here are some photos. Valued customers store their beer steins in these lockers.
large_DSC09942.jpglarge_DSC09940.jpg
large_85F95F93F5EF16480CAD47C414DD3F36.jpglarge_270_DSC09938.jpg

We spent a few hours touring around the city. Here are some photos taken along the way.
large_DSC09950.jpglarge_862047BAA108C09CB90BB9C9B52C1918.jpglarge_DSC09980.jpg

Friday night we had dinner (around 5 pm) at the Weisses Brauhaus.
large_DSC09999.jpg

After dinner we walked back through the Marienplatz with the Christmas Markets in full swing.
large_DSC00003.jpglarge_DSC00004.jpglarge_90_DSC00014.jpglarge_DSC00016.jpglarge_DSC00018.jpg

Saturday morning was an early start and outside temperatures of -3 degrees which did get to a high of 4 degrees. We took a coach tour of two castles of King Ludwig 11. Linderhof Palace (German: Schloss Linderhof) is a Schloss in Germany, in southwest Bavaria near Ettal Abbey. It is the smallest of the three palaces built by King Ludwig II of Bavaria and the only one which he lived to see completed. Although Linderhof is much smaller than Versailles, it is evident that the palace of the French Sun-King Louis XIV (who was an idol for Ludwig) was its inspiration.
large_DSC00032.jpglarge_DSC00035.jpglarge_DSC00044.jpglarge_DSC00052.jpglarge_DSC00054.jpg

Next stop was the village of Oberammergau. Oberammergau is a municipality in the district of Garmisch-Partenkirchen, in Bavaria, Germany. The town is famous for its production of a Passion Play, its woodcarvers, and the NATO School. The Oberammergau Passion Play was first performed in 1634 and is the result of a vow made by the inhabitants of the village that if God spared them from the effects of the bubonic plague then sweeping the region they would perform a passion play every ten years. A man travelling back to the town for Christmas had accidentally brought the plague with him. The man died from the plague and it began spreading throughout Oberammergau. After the vow was made, not another inhabitant of the town died from the bubonic plague and all of the town members that were still suffering from the plague recovered. The play is now performed in years ending with a zero, as well as in 1934 which was the 300th anniversary and 1984 which was the 350th anniversary (though the 1940 performance was cancelled because of the intervention of the Second World War). It involves over 2000 actors, singers, instrumentalists and technicians, all residents of the village.

large_DSC00075.jpglarge_DSC00076.jpglarge_DSC00084.jpglarge_DSC00085.jpglarge_DSC00062.jpg

Our next stop was the most famous of king Ludwig. Neuschwanstein Castle is a nineteenth-century Romanesque Revival palace on a rugged hill above the village of Hohenschwangau near Füssen in southwest Bavaria, Germany. The palace was commissioned by Ludwig II of Bavaria as a retreat and as a homage to Richard Wagner. Ludwig paid for the palace out of his personal fortune and by means of extensive borrowing, rather than Bavarian public funds.

The palace was intended as a personal refuge for the reclusive king, but it was opened to the paying public immediately after his death in 1886. Since then more than 61 million people have visited Neuschwanstein Castle. More than 1.3 million people visit annually, with as many as 6,000 per day in the summer. The palace has appeared prominently in several movies such as Chitty Chitty Bang Bang and The Great Escape and serves as the inspiration for Disneyland's Sleeping Beauty Castle[5] and later, similar structures.

large_DSC00088.jpglarge_DSC00089.jpglarge_DSC00091.jpg large_270_DSC00103.jpglarge_DSC00102.jpglarge_DSC00099.jpglarge_DSC00097.jpglarge_DSC00106.jpg

On an opposite hill was the castle built by his mother, Maria.
large_DSC00092.jpglarge_DSC00113.jpg

Sunday being a day of rest, we slept in then had breakfast and looked forward to an easy day. In the afternoon, Colleen and I caught the tram to the Deutsche Museum. The Deutsches Museum (German Museum) in Munich, Germany is the world's largest museum of science and technology, with approximately 1.5 million visitors per year and about 28,000 exhibited objects from 50 fields of science and technology. The museum was founded on June 28, 1903, at a meeting of the Association of German Engineers (VDI).

large_DSC00118.jpglarge_DSC00119.jpglarge_DSC00120.jpglarge_DSC00122.jpglarge_DSC00127.jpg

There were many exhibits that interested us. Here are a few.
large_DSC00132.jpglarge_DSC00135.jpglarge_270_DSC00136.jpglarge_DSC00137.jpglarge_DSC00145.jpg

This morning, Monday 5 December, we took the ICE, the high speed train from a Munich to Augsburg. Augsburg is a city in Swabia, Bavaria, Germany. It was a Free Imperial City for over 500 years. It is a university town and home of the Regierungsbezirk Schwaben and the Bezirk Schwaben. Augsburg is an urban district and home to the institutions of the Landkreis Augsburg. It is the third-largest city in Bavaria (after Munich and Nuremberg) with a population of 286,000 citizens. After Neuss and Trier, Augsburg is Germany's third oldest city, being founded by the Romans as Augusta Vindelicorum, named after the Roman emperor Augustus.

We saw our first snowfall when we alighted from the train.
large_DSC00151.jpglarge_DSC00153.jpglarge_DSC00156.jpglarge_DSC00158.jpg

Our first visit after stopping at the Information Centre at the Rathaus (City Hall) was the Fuggerei. The Fuggerei is the world's oldest social housing complex still in use. It is a walled enclave within the city of Augsburg, Bavaria. It takes its name from the Fugger family and was founded in 1516 by Jakob Fugger the Younger (known as "Jakob Fugger the Rich") as a place where the needy citizens of Augsburg could be housed. By 1523, 52 houses had been built, and in the coming years the area expanded with various streets, small squares and a church. The gates were locked at night, so the Fuggerei was, in its own right, very similar to a small independent medieval town. It is still inhabited today, affording it the status of being the oldest social housing project in the world.

The rent was and is still one Rheinischer Gulden per year (equivalent to 0.88 euros), as well as three daily prayers for the current owners of the Fuggerei — the Lord's Prayer, Hail Mary, and the Nicene Creed. The conditions to live there remain the same as they were 480 years ago: one must have lived at least two years in Augsburg, be of the Catholic faith and have become indigent without debt. The five gates are still locked every day at 10 PM.

Housing units in the area consist of 45 to 65 square meter (500–700 square foot) apartments, but because each unit has its own street entrance it simulates living in a house. There is no shared accommodation; each family has its own apartment, which includes a kitchen, a parlour, a bedroom and a tiny spare room, altogether totaling about 60 square metres. Ground-floor apartments all have a small garden and garden shed, while upper-floor apartments have an attic. All apartments have modern conveniences such as television and running water. One ground-floor apartment is uninhabited, serving as a museum open to the public. The doorbells have elaborate shapes, each being unique, dating back to before the installation of streetlights when residents could identify their door by feeling the handle in the dark.
large_DSC00164.jpglarge_DSC00165.jpglarge_270_DSC00168.jpglarge_DSC00190.jpg

Augsburg suffered heavily from bombing during the Second World War. The headquarters of Messerschmitt AG was here and factories produced 35 000 ME 109s over the course if the war. The Fuggerei was bombed with very little loss of life as the people sheltered in a large bomb shelter now housing a museum.
large_DSC00171.jpglarge_270_DSC00173.jpglarge_270_DSC00174.jpglarge_270_DSC00176.jpg

We stopped for coffee at the Christmas Markets in the Rathaus Square.

large_DSC00191.jpglarge_DSC00193.jpg

Last visit was to the Dom, the Cathedral of Augsburg. It is a Roman Catholic church in Augsburg, Bavaria, Germany, founded in the 11th century in Romanesque style, but with 14th century Gothic additions. Together with the Basilica of St. Ulrich and Afra, it is one of the city's main attractions. It measures 113 x 40 m, and its towers are 62 m high. It is dedicated to the Visitation of Virgin Mary.

large_DSC00198.jpgDSC00200

DSC00200

large_270_DSC00203.jpg

The southern clerestory has five stained glass windows dated to the late 11th-early 12th centuries, the oldest in Germany: they feature the prophets David, Jonah, Daniel, Moses, Hosea, and were perhaps part of a larger series, the others now being missing.

large_270_DSC00207.jpg

The 1000 year old doors are still serviceable.
large_270_DSC00210.jpg

Today is Tuesday and we were undecided to do a city walking tour or to take the train to Stuttgart, the home of Mercedes Benz.

We certainly struck pure gold when we took Oz Tour Munich with Osbourne Kemp known as Ozzie. We had an exceptionally illuminating day with just the three of us. It was meant to be a three hour tour starting at 10.00 am. We finally parted company at 5.00 pm at a little bar called Le Clou which would have been smaller than most people's bedrooms.

We started off in Karlplatz and walked through to the Marienplatz to the Cathedral. The former Archbishop was Cardinal George Ratzinger who became Pope Benedict xvi. The Frauenkirche is a church in the Bavarian city of Munich that serves as the cathedral of the Archdiocese of Munich and Freising and seat of its Archbishop. It is a landmark and is considered a symbol of the Bavarian capital city.

The cathedral was erected in only 20 years' time by Jörg von Halsbach from 1468 to 1488. For financial reasons and due to the lack of a nearby stone pit, brick was chosen as building material. Construction began in 1468.

The cathedral suffered severe damage during World War II due to the Allied forces' aerial raids during the latter stages of the war — the roof collapsed, one of the towers suffered severe damage and a lion's share of the immensely precious interior from all centuries since the foundation of the parish was lost either due to bomb raids or in their aftermath, when tons of debris had to be removed somehow.

Major restoration efforts began after the war and were carried out in several stages, the last of which came to an end in 1994. It took our guide to show us how the original bricks were re-used to construct the southern end and new bricks made to look old for the other end. The church tower was the only original undamaged part.

large_270_DSC00219.jpglarge_DSC00223.jpglarge_270_DSC00229.jpg

Next stop was to see the Glockenspiel on the Rathaus. By far the world's most extravagant clock, this tower on Munich's Marienzplatz features a clock face, 43 bells and more than 30 full-sized mechanical figures. The figures act out scenes from German history and mythology, including a royal wedding, a jousting tournament and a German myth that explains how people danced in the streets to fend off the black plague. These scenes, acted out on several tiers below the clock face, make up a mechanical play that lasts for more than a quarter of an hour. Built in the early 20th century, the Rathaus Glockenspiel's main purpose has always been to amuse people rather than to tell time. The mechanical figures appear at 11 a.m. every day, with additional shows in the summertime at noon and 5 p.m.

large_DSC00238.jpglarge_270_DSC00237.jpglarge_DSC00242.jpglarge_DSC00240.jpglarge_270_DSC00236.jpg

Here is the new Synagogue. Ohel Jakob (from Hebrew: "Jacob's Tent") is a synagogue in Munich, Germany. It was built between 2004 and 2006 as the new main synagogue for the Jewish community in Munich and is located at the Sankt-Jakobs-Platz. The synagogue was inaugurated on 9 November 2006 on the 68th anniversary of the Kristallnacht. The building is part of the new Jewish Center consisting of the synagogue, the Jewish Museum Munich and a community

large_DSC00256.jpg

We lunched on a range of Barvarian foods and beer at the Victuallien Market.
large_DSC00257.jpglarge_DSC00259.jpg
large_DSC00264.jpg

We went to a tiny bar called Le Clou. A Harley Davidson suspended from a wall took up a fair bit of space.
large_DSC00266.jpglarge_DSC00267.jpglarge_DSC00268.jpglarge_270_DSC00269.jpg

Tomorrow morning, Wednesday 7 December is a train travel day to Cologne for two nights then onto Amsterdam.

Posted by Kangatraveller 10:32 Comments (0)

ACHIEVING LIFTOFF

Brisbane International Airport - MUNICH, BAVARIA, GERMANY

semi-overcast 26 °C

Here we go again. The interminable wait to lift off on another adventure. Emirates to Dubai with a two hour stopover in Singapore then on to Munich. Predicted temperature on arrival is -5 degrees.
IMG_0725

IMG_0725

First stopover was Singapore for an hour or so then a further stop of 3.5 hours at Dubai. That meant a total of 16.5 hours from Brisbane to Dubai.

Colleen and I had a few hours in the Emirates Lounge.

Of course, we sat near the Health Bar.
large_IMG_0731.jpg

Posted by Kangatraveller 09:35 Archived in Australia Comments (0)

(Entries 11 - 14 of 14) « Page 1 2 [3]